Hall Earns National Weekly Award For HIs Performance at Texas State

cowboy football 2019
photo by Darrel Johnson, KFBC radio

by staff–10 Sep ’19

The Paul Hornung Award named its Honor Roll of the nation’s most versatile college football players on Monday and University of Wyoming senior cornerback Tyler Hall is one of this week’s honorees.

Wyoming senior cornerback / return specialist Tyler Hall changed the momentum of last week’s Wyoming road win at Texas State when he intercepted a pass midway through the third quarter and returning it 72 yards for what proved to be the winning touchdown.  His “Pick Six” gave Wyoming its first lead of the game at 20-14 on way to a 23-14 road victory.  Hall has accounted for 72 yards in kickoff returns, including a 52-yard return, and he recorded two tackles and one pass beakup.

The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, now in its 10th season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award dinner at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 4, 2020.

This week’s other Honor Roll members include:

Kentucky junior wide receiver / return specialist Lynn Bowden Jr. touched the ball five ways – receiving, rushing, passing and returning kicks and punts – and accounted for 169 all-purpose yards in the Wildcats’ 38-17 home win over Eastern Michigan. Bowden returned a punt 26 yards to set up Kentucky’s opening score, completed a 32-yard pass that set up the Wildcats’ second touchdown and caught a two-yard touchdown pass late in the game.

Purdue sophomore slot receiver / return specialist Rondale Moore touched the ball three different ways – receiving and returning kicks and punts – and accounted for 258 all-purpose yards and a score in the Boilermakers’ 42-24 home win over Vanderbilt. Moore caught 13 passes for 220 yards, including a 34-yard touchdown reception that put the game out of reach and a 70-yard bomb that set up the final score. Moore had eight catches for first downs.

Colorado State freshman wide receiver / return specialist Dante Wright touched the ball three different ways and scored twice in the Rams’ 38-13 home win over Western Illinois. Wright opened up the scoring with a 75-yard touchdown catch on the first play from scrimmage and added a 35-yard touchdown run midway through the third quarter. He finished the game with 176 all-purpose yards: 108 receiving, 33 rushing and 35 returning punts.

The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Each week during the season, a panel of college football experts selects players for the Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll based on performance. A national selection committee comprised of 17 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award finalists and the winner, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 18th vote. Regional accounting firm Dean Dorton independently tabulates all votes. For more information, visit www.paulhornungaward.com. Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.

Previous Paul Hornung Award winners by year:

  • 2018: Rondale Moore of Purdue won the award as a dynamic All-American freshman sensation who broke a school record for all-purpose yards in a season and a game with 2,215 and 313 respectively.
  • 2017: Saquon Barkley of Penn State won the award as an electrifying All-American running back who lined up at slot and wildcat quarterback, and returned kicks and punts;
  • 2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award by playing 15 different positions on defense, offense and special teams, and earning first team All-America at linebacker;
  • 2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won the award after breaking the NCAA record for all-purpose yards, finishing with 3,864;
  • 2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-American honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;
  • 2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the Southeastern Conference with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;
  • 2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving and kick returns);
  • 2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award after excelling on defense, offense and special teams; and
  • 2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and linebacker.

Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. For more information and to vote, go to www.louisvillesports.org/paul-hornung/award-poll/