Gentry Added to Biletnikoff Watch List

photo by Darrell Johnson

by staff–27 Sep 16

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, announced on Tuesday that University of Wyoming senior receiver Tanner Gentry has been added to the 2016 Biletnikoff Award Watch List.  The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the college football season’s outstanding receiver.  Any player, regardless of position, who catches a pass is eligible for the award.  This is the second consecutive year that Gentry has been named to the Biletnikoff Award List.

Gentry was one of eight receivers nationally to be added on Tuesday to this year’s Biletnikoff Award Watch List.  He is currently leading the Mountain West Conference and is ranked 10th in the nation in receptions per game (7.25).  Gentry also is No. 1 in the MW and No. 16 nationally in total receiving yards (388) this season.  He is No. 2 in the league and No. 23 in the NCAA in receiving yards per game, averaging 97.0 yards per game, and his three touchdown receptions in 2016 rank him No. 2 in the conference and No. 34 in the nation.

The senior from Aurora, Colo., has caught 29 passes for 388 yards and three touchdowns through the first four games of the 2016 season.  Gentry has recorded three 100-yard receiving games this season. He had 127 yards at Eastern Michigan, 124 at Nebraska and 104 vs. Northern Illinois.

Recently the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2016 FanVote at:  Every fan may vote once daily.  The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (10 receivers), finalists (three) and the winner.  In 2013, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for Brandin Cooks of Oregon State in the closest contest in years.

The award recipient is selected by a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers.  Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted.  The voters my be found at

The FanForum Discussion Board my be accessed by going to and voting criteria may be found at:

The TQC Foundation, Inc. is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994.  The Biletnikoff Award is a season, not career, award.  Former University of Wyoming Cowboy Marcus Harris was the recipient of the award for the 1996 season.

The Award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the college and pro football halls of fame.  Biletnikoff was an All-America receiver at Florida State University and was an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders.