Hill Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

by staff–5 Jul ’16

The Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday its 2016 Maxwell Award Watch List and University of Wyoming junior running back Brian Hill is one of the individual student-athletes named to this year’s list.  The 2016 season will mark the 80th year that the Maxwell Award will be presented to the Collegiate Player of the Year.

Hill returns in 2016 as one of the nation’s top returning players.  He finished the 2015 season ranked No. 8 in the nation in average rushing yards per game (135.9), No. 9 in total rushing yards (1,631) and No. 13 in average all-purpose yards per game (146.9).  He set a new University of Wyoming single-season rushing record, with his 1,631 yards.  Hill enters his junior season ranked fifth in school history in career rushing yards (2,427).  He needs 537 yards in 2016 to break the UW career rushing record of 2,963 yards set by Devin Moore from 2005-08.

The Maxwell Football Club has presented the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year each year since 1937. The award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist.  The Maxwell College Awards are voted on by Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches and sportswriters and sports broadcasters from around the nation.